More About Me – Part 2

1.7.16 -> New pic of meAbout a year ago when I first made this blog, my About Me post was one of the first ones published. Rereading that post a year later, it’s crazy to see how much has changed. It’s time to give an update about what has happened in the past 12 months.

I graduated from UMass – Amherst in May, 2015, with a degree in Sociology and a minor in English. Neil deGrasse Tyson was our commencement speaker and he was great and wicked smart.

I started working at my job in June, about a month after graduation. I do marketing at a company in Boston. Fun fact: I did not take one marketing class in college, so I went into this job completely unaware of what I was getting myself into. I’m seven months in now, and I can’t believe how much I’ve learned, but still have so far to go.

I turned 22. Or should I say, twenty-too.

I moved into an apartment in a neighborhood right outside of Boston in September, 2015. It’s my first big girl apartment! I live with my two friends from high school (I’ve actually known them since 7th grade).  It’s a great place, and I couldn’t ask for a better first place. I have a big room, with a big bed, and an even bigger closet!

I’ve szcihignifsbeatarted to use the term #adulting a lot. There are so many things that I do now or am responsible for that are so adult-like. I will be talking about these things a lot on here. For example: paying bills (lots of them), tackling student loans, and going to the RMV, to name a few. I would like to think I coined the term #adulting, but I cannot confirm.

I’ve become obsessed with reading theSkimm. For those who don’t know, they send you an email every morning with the top news and current events of the day in a shortened, easy to understand way. The Skimm makes me seem like I know what’s going on in the world when I’m at work. My current goal: become a Skimm’bassador. (Please!)

New things I love: Serial podcast (literally obsessed), podcasts in general (other favorites include The MothThis American Life, and Fempire), cooking, and being independent.

I still love my snuggie, gel manicures, all things sparkly, candles, the Backstreet Boys, and shoes.

New things I hate: public transportation, paying bills, student loans, walking in the cold, and being independent.

I still hate tomatoes, mushrooms, mean people, and the cold.

So much has changed in the past year, and I’m glad I got to share much of it with you. I’m excited for what this year will bring and all the ups and downs that will come with it. Here’s to you adulthood, bring it on!

gpp18dtmlplle

Leave a Reply

