I Got #Plated

I love living in my new apartment – the commute is so much better (40 minutes compared to an hour and a half), my room is cutely decorated (pics to come), and I’m starting to feel like a real, big, grown adult (which I don’t want to be yet). There is one thing that is not fun about living on my own: coming home from work after a long day and struggling to figure out what to make for dinner. What a luxury it was to live at home and know that dinner was always waiting on the table for me.

Plated came in and made things easy.

Meal planning is hard. Trying to figure what to cook after a long day is the last thing you want to think about. All you want to do is take a shower, turn on Netflix or read a good book. All day at work, I think about what I’m going make when I get home; it’s annoying, not going to lie. I usually resort cooking chicken as quickly as possible, and putting frozen rice from Trader Joe’s in the microwave. I love Trader Joe’s, and I know it’s not the worst thing I could make, but it gets boring after a while.

I wasn’t actively looking for a food delivery service but when I got an email in my inbox about a free week of food from Lara (step-mom), I couldn’t resist. She’s been using Plated for some time now and has also used other services as well. I’ve had Plated meals when she’s cooked them but had never made them on my own. But there was no way I was going to say no to free food, especially food that gets delivered right to my door.IMG_7350

Last week, went online to pick out the meals and was really impressed by all the options. You pick which meat options you like, and they give you a few recipes to choose from. For this week, I chose Sichuan Chicken Salad, Tamarind Steak with Greens, and Sweet Potatoes with Greens. I tried to get a variety of meats that also included vegetables that I don’t keep in my refrigerator. Today, the huge, insulated box came in the mail and I was excited all day to cook dinner. My only problem today was which recipe I was going to attempt to make. I decided on the Sichuan Chicken Salad, which was chicken in sesame and soy sauce, over an arugula, snow pea, and cucumber salad.

Disclaimer: I am not a professional photographer, and this is not a food blog. I tried my best to take the best pictures of the food that I could, but it’s hard. I give a lot of credit to food bloggers who are able to beautifully position the food with the most perfect lighting. So sorry for the shadows and the not perfect end result.

IMG_7352The chicken salad took me about 30 minutes to make, which if is pretty great considering I didn’t have to do any preparation. All the ingredients needed for the recipe (except salt, pepper and the occasional olive or canola oil) come perfectly measured and portioned out. All you have to do is follow the directions and cut, slice, dice and cook!

What I liked best about Plated:

  • It makes it super easy to have a great meal that is not only easy to make, but healthy as well.
  • Everything is already measured out for you – all you have to do is follow the instructions!
  • It gets delivered right to your door in an insulated box that stays fresh all day.
  • Each meal says it serves two people, but I know I’m going to be eating this longer than two meals. I now have lunch already prepared for tomorrow!
  • You can design your box to whatever food preference you want and decide on how many plates you want to come with it. There are also so many options to choose from, that I had a hard time choosing!

IMG_7364
I got #plated. I’m hooked. I never thought I would say this, but I’m excited to come home tomorrow and cook my next meal! Thanks for making it so easy, Plated!

5 thoughts on “I Got #Plated

  1. researching plated and found your review. me and the fam eat out a lot and enjoy variety and fresh food. are you still enjoying plated? have you found any drawbacks to it? thanks for any info you provide!

    Like

    1. Hi Crista! Thanks for reading my blog!

      I have tried 3 different meals from Plated and loved each one that I made. I loved the ease and convenience of all the meals; however, I found for me personally, that the price wasn’t worth it as I would be spending more on these meals weekly than at the grocery store. If you and your family are eating out a lot and enjoy fresh foods, I think Plated is a great alternative, and definitely a cheaper option than eating out all the time. I would recommend it for you.

      Try Plated and see what you think. You can always cancel if you find it doesn’t fit your lifestyle. I would love to hear your thoughts when you try it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

