One of Those College Days

Do you ever have one of those days that you never want to end? Instead of being a day for me, I wanted this past weekend to never end. Perfect weather, perfect friends and a perfect way to start to wrap up my college life.

Saturday started off great. It was in the 70s, sunny and warm. Around noon, the roomies and I put together some drinks, put on country music, sat on the roof of our house and tried to get some color on our skin after our dreaded winter. It doesn’t get better than that. After a while, we decided to take a walk into town. We live about a 10 minute walk from downtown with stores, food and bars. There was a festival going on in the town green and we decided to check it out. Hundreds of people were there enjoying the outside weather. Perfect.

The only thing to top off a 70 degree day: Mexican food and margaritas for dinner. We headed to Mama Iguana’s and I have to say, it was one of the best margaritas and burritos I have ever had (sorry Chipotle). We left feeling so full and so happy.

IMG_6894Although it was a Saturday night, we were pretty tired from the day’s activities and didn’t feel like going out; we just wanted to hang out ourselves. We were brainstorming what to do and came up with the genius idea of making a fire pit. While two of my roommates found rocks, stones and sticks, a few others and I went to Walmart to find lighter fluid and Duraflame to get our fire going. We’re lucky we live next to an agriculture fraternity (yes, those exist – only in Western Mass), because Walmart was out of logs. They were nice enough to give us some of their logs so we could make a fire. We brought out chairs, marshmallows and speakers and sat around talking and looking up at the stars. It really felt like a summer night.

Saturday was really one of those college days. Great weather and great friends makes for a great time. And who knew that us girls could figure out how to make a fire pit and get a fire going? (We did have some help! Thanks Connor!)

IMG_6885

No other time in my life will I be able to have days like this except in college. It really makes me sad to know that as this chapter of my life is ending, all I have will be the great memories to look back on. It’s days and nights like these that I will always remember and cherish. These are the ones that make me happy.

And luckily, we now have a fire pit to use the rest of the semester to have more of those perfect college nights.

Leave a Reply

