Cooking Attempt: Take 1

Living in a house gives me the opportunity to really feel like I’m living on my own. One of the best parts about it is the kitchen and how I can learn to cook my own food. I’ve been trying to eat healthy and not always buy junk food (except for Goldfish which are my absolute favorite) so I try to make dinners more interesting. Sometimes they are good. Sometimes they aren’t.

I have a few blogs that I look at to get dinner ideas. One is Eat-Yourself-Skinny which has a bunch of fun recipes that easy and delicious. Another favorite is Pinterest where I found a recipe for avocado-turkey burgers.

IMG_6704
My attempt

I bought all the ingredients at the grocery store (instead of chicken in the recipe, I used turkey). I thought they were going to be so delicious and easy. I mushed up all the ingredients (there is only turkey and avocado in it) and threw them on the stove to make. I’m not the best cook but I thought these would be okay.

Lesson learned: things on Pinterest are much prettier than in real life. My burgers did not turn out the way they are in the pictures. They are also not as yummy as I thought. That’s not to say they weren’t good – they were, just not as good as I thought. But I’m glad I tried. That’s what it is all about!

Twenties are all about trying new things and a lot of the time, it may not come out the way we want. As frustrating as it might be, it is kind of fun!

If anyone else decides to make the burgers, please let me know! I would love to hear how yours comes out and if you liked them! Leave any other recipes you like and are easy in the comments!

ChickenAvocadoBurgers2
What they are supposed to look like.
IMG_6705
               Mine. Oops.
3 thoughts on “Cooking Attempt: Take 1

  1. Sorry for your epic burger fail!. I assure you your experience is not the norm. These are are the most popular recipe on my blog and for good reason….they are yummy! Your pic’s are less than flattering and I think you would have had better luck had you used ground chicken as recommended as well as a grill pan. Better luck with your next recipe ….

    Like

    1. I will definitely try to make these again as I have them frozen in the freezer. I can tell why they are the most popular on your blog – they are super easy! I’m still new to this cooking thing so I’m hoping I have an easier time the second time! Thank you for your response!

      Like

  2. Reminds me of pinterestfails! My favorite easy recipe is: baked chicken sprinkled with olive oil, 1 tsp cumin, 2 tsps paprika and (if you can stand it) lemon juice (or another acid); mashed sweet potato or butternut squash, and something green. Keep on cookin’!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

